When your Uber is involved in an accident, you must report the incident to the rideshare company. Different forms apply to different parties. For instance, you would fill out a different form as a driver than you would as a passenger.
From there, what happens depends on the nature of your situation and the severity of your injuries. You may seek compensation from Uber’s insurance provider, which provides coverage options based on the rideshare driver’s status at the time of the collision.
You Have Insurance Coverage If You Suffered Harm in an Uber Collision
As a paying passenger, you are covered by Uber’s insurance policy from the moment you enter the vehicle until the moment you exit. This is good news for your personal injury case, as New York requires Uber to carry higher coverage amounts than other states. The minimums on these policies in New York are $1.25 million.
Uber might not be the only policy that provides coverage. The Uber driver should have their own liability policy. This policy also covers you if the crash is caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
You Can File a Claim to Recover Compensation
You can file a claim with Uber using the app or by contacting customer support. Then, a claims adjuster will reach out to you. They may ask for more information to establish your claim’s validity. They may even offer you a settlement.
You should think twice about any settlement offers – especially if you’re still receiving medical care. After all, there’s no way to understand your case’s value without reaching maximum medical improvement.
Scrutinize Any Early Settlement Offers
We recommend consulting with our legal team before accepting a settlement. You only get one opportunity to resolve your Uber collision injury claim. By accepting an offer, you waive the right to seek additional funds.
Insurance companies (especially those representing rideshare companies) know that most people don’t understand their claims’ value. That’s why they immediately try to resolve claims. They hope you’ll accept less than you deserve.
Our law firm can review your Uber crash and ensure you seek appropriate compensation. We want you to recover what your damages are worth.
You Can File a Rideshare Collision Lawsuit in New York
We resolve many collision cases through insurance claims. However, if the insurer refuses to settle, you may consider filing a lawsuit. You generally have three years to act, per CPLR § 214. However, there are some circumstances where you might have as little as 90 days.
You’ll file your lawsuit against the party that caused your collision. For instance, if another car hit your Uber, you can sue that motorist. Yet, if Uber acted negligently (e.g., if it failed to thoroughly vet your driver), you might be able to sue the rideshare company.
Our lawyers will manage every aspect of your lawsuit, from filing its necessary paperwork to championing your legal rights.
What Damages Can I Pursue Through a Rideshare Collision Claim?
Your recoverable damages depend on your situation, as well as whether you’re filing a claim or lawsuit. Uber provides over a million dollars in liability coverage, intended to cover property damage costs, medical bills, and other expenses.
Via a lawsuit, you can seek:
- Pain and suffering
- Healthcare expenses
- Lost income, tips, and bonuses
- Diminished earning power
- Mental anguish
We’ve recovered millions for motor vehicle crash claimants and their loved ones.
Steps to Take As a Passenger After an Uber Crash
While the insurer processes your claim, these steps can protect your case’s outcome:
Visit a Healthcare Provider
You should seek immediate emergency medical care, even if your injuries seem relatively minor. The following could be beneficial to your case:
- Documenting your condition as soon as possible.
- Connecting your injuries’ cause to the rideshare crash.
- Starting the process of seeking treatment.
Each of these things can bolster your injury claim or lawsuit.
Ensure the Police Report Reflects You Were a Rideshare Passenger
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) notes that you must file a police report if a collision results in injuries, death, or property damage exceeding $1,000. You want to make sure the report is as accurate as possible. This includes requesting a copy and verifying:
- Your name and contact information
- Your status as the rideshare passenger (and not the driver)
- Whether you needed medical attention
- The time, date, and location of the collision
The police will do everything in their power to ensure an accurate report. However, you should always “double-check” your case-related documents. For example, if the police report lists you as the Uber driver (and not the passenger), this may complicate the claims process. Our team can help you if the police report is inaccurate.
Report the Collision to These Parties
Even though you didn’t cause the collision, you should still notify:
- The government. If you didn’t file a police report at the collision scene, you have 10 days to notify the DMV.
- Your own insurance provider. If you have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, you may file a claim with your own insurer.
- Uber. As noted, you can report the collision through the app or over the phone.
You should “screenshot” any written correspondence between yourself and these parties. That way, you create an accurate record of events.
Contact Our Law Firm About Your Rideshare Collision on Long Island
There are many things that can happen when your Uber is involved in a crash. Insurance companies could make settlement offers or deny your claim entirely. The Uber driver could accept responsibility for the crash or blame another party.
The aftermath of a rideshare collision can be overwhelming for many people. Yet, you never have to deal with this situation on your own. The team at Rosenberg & Gluck, L.L.P. is prepared to pursue compensation for your injury-related expenses. Call for your free consultation. We help claimants in English and Spanish.